Writing · Writing Challenges

Writing and the Prevention of – SQUIRREL!

So I’ve been sick all week and used up 3 of my 5 sick days for the year and it’s only January. I’ve spent much of the time wishing I could sleep, staring aimlessly at various television/youtube shows and reading with some scattered attempts at writing.

Between fits of coughs and drastic ploys to attempt to fall asleep I’ve gotten barely any work done on my current writing projects. Everytime I pop one open I think to myself that I really need to see what that Facebook notification is, or refresh the forum to check for a comment or maybe instead I should read one of the many reference books piled up on the floor.

Needless to say, I haven’t gotten much done. I’ve been sick and lacked motivation and focus. I shouldn’t blame my illness, but it’s usually easier that way. Truth is I always find I write better when I have a specific deadline that isn’t 100% self imposed. Although even with deadlines I tend to leave things to the last minute – I like the pressure.

So this year I joined 12×12. I’m hoping that will give me some drive since there’s a clear target. I’m also going to try working on one of my other two longer books – although I haven’t sorted which one. And I’m going to get back on the blog train.

Yeah, it’s a lot. I’m not sure why I think this is a good idea – oh look, a Facebook notification!

That of course is the point. I can do all these things if I can get the distractions gone/diminished. I’ve already cancelled cable – which I did for financial reasons, but I feel like it’s added some time to my life. Hopefully I can find some new and creative ways to keep myself on track.

So here’s to getting things done and words on paper/screen in 2019.

Leave a comment